I think that the best way to start this review is by stating that I have never seen ‘The Middle’, not for any specific reason, I just seemed to have missed it, but I didn’t want anyone thinking that this would be a ‘fanboy’ review. 

We decided to see this show because the American movie and TV performers that come to the Fringe have always intrigued me (most recently Janeane Garofalo) as I can’t think of a harder test to put yourself through than entertaining an intoxicated festival crowd in a sweat box. It’s brave and probably something that they don’t need to do, so I’ll always have time for it.

Eden Sher is stage school, the way she carries herself, her projection and even her stage direction scream ‘actor’ and it’s no surprise that with this show she plays to her strengths. I hadn’t read any reviews before seeing the show and therefore, based on the title, expected a string of witty anecdotes about her time on the middle and how lovely the janitor from Scrubs really is… I could not have been more wrong.

This show is a fascinating take on what must have been an incredibly dark and difficult time in our clown’s life. The phrase ‘high-risk pregnancy’ doesn’t really come anywhere close to covering everything surrounding that situation, but this show is here to fill in those rather large gaps.

In the hands of a stand-up like Reginald D Hunter or Ed Byrne this tragic material could be turned into some incredible and thought-provoking observational comedy. But as we have said, Eden is not a stand-up, and so she has crafted a one-woman show around the subject that delivers the material in both a human and genuinely funny way. It’s not overly earnest, it’s not try-hard, it’s well thought out, well performed and incredibly engaging.

Based on the subject matter I’m not sure if there will be a second show, but if there is I’ll definitely be picking up tickets, as should you if this clown is coming to town.

Now where can I go and watch ‘the Middle?

Clown Stars * * * *

@Gilded Balloon, Edinburgh