It was actually my parents who first fuelled my love of stand-up comedy. They introduced me to legendary clowns like Dave Allen, Billy Connolly, and Victoria Wood, and we all laughed along to their routines — admittedly long before I truly understood what they were actually talking about.

Despite this long-term affection for stand-up, it is only in the last few years that my parents attended their first Edinburgh Fringe. They found the whole experience thoroughly entertaining, gleefully joining queues and running between shows as all newbies to the Fringe should. As this enjoyment for all things stand-up reignited, my mum mentioned that one of the people she would love to see perform live was Julian Clary. This surprised me, as I thought that a woman who often remarked, “They were really funny, but they didn’t need to use THAT word. It’s unnecessary; they are too talented for that,” would find the creator of ‘The Joan Collins Fan Club’ a little too risqué.

However, when I saw that Julian Clary was playing at the London Palladium, I quickly snapped up a set of tickets for my parents, with the caveat that my mum gives me an interview/review post-show. So, here it is…

As many of our reviews begin with where we were drinking, I decided that this should be no different. The Palladium is unlike most regular stand-up gigs, so I thought they needed somewhere apt for their pre-show refreshment. Aqua Kyoto is definitely the closest bar to the venue; having lifts that take you to this penthouse spot means that you are both in a different tier of topography and yet just a handful of steps from the gig. Yes, it’s OTT, but the cocktails are stylish and original (‘Big in Japan’ was a fave), and it’s never a bad thing to treat the fam. We left them just before showtime and, as they would get home late, caught up the next day. I opened the conversation by trying to find out what it is my mum really enjoys about Julian Clary…

Oh, so many reasons. I just love him. It’s his voice as much as anything. He is an extremely attractive man, and I honestly believe that he’s an incredibly nice person. Even when he is putting down someone in the front row, it’s always funny rather than offensive. His timing is perfect, and I always think that he would actually be devastated if he truly upset someone.

And what about the show?

Well, to start with, we had great seats in a completely sold-out Palladium, and it was fascinating to see the total mix within the audience. It really was a bit of everyone, and it is so nice to see that he has that appeal as it created a wonderful atmosphere.

He began by just toying with the people who sat in the front row. I cannot believe people do that at a Julian Clary show — do they enjoy abuse? It was hilarious to see him consistently go after one man who had the audacity to turn up to THE LONDON PALLADIUM in shorts!

It was quite a unique show with ‘Wimbledon’ tennis-style breaks between sections, despite there being a sort of ‘Western’ theme running throughout. The costumes were fantastic. There were a couple of sections that he’s carried over from the Palladium Panto, but they worked just as well in this setting, and even a couple of songs, including a touching tribute to his friend Paul O’Grady.

As usual, his jokes are right on the line… actually, they are way over the line, but his delivery keeps everything on that ‘naughty’ side, so you don’t mind at all. Overall, I have to say that he was brilliant. I am so glad we got the tickets, and I think I love him even more now.

So, there you have it — my mum’s review of a comedy legend. Hope you enjoyed this departure from our normal content.

Julian Clary is touring this show until late June, and it truly sounds like one not to be missed. You can find all details here: Julian Clary Live Dates.

Clown Stars: * * * * *

@The Palladium, London